Serial HEX to ASCII to DMD

The Dot Matrix Display (DMD) is a 32x16 array of high-brightness LEDs for visually striking effects. [Product Page]

Serial HEX to ASCII to DMD

Postby Stevel » Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:27 pm

Hi,
I am extremely new to the Arduino and any type of programming so my first project is going to be a challenge. But after seeing the Arduino and the Freetronics DMD panel I wanted to give it a try.
I want to monitor the serial port for a data string and display some of the string to the DMD in ASCII.
The details of the data are below.

STX D nnnn B C ETX
STX = 2 hex, start of text
ETX = 3 hex, end of text
D = Device number, this must match a number in the setup
nnnn = numbers or characters to be displayed
B = 0: GREEN
B = 1: RED
C = 0: Open
C = 1: Closed

So the following data should display 42.

0x02 0x80 0x20 0x20 0x34 0x32 0x30 0x30 0x03

So what I need it to do is monitor the serial port for data, when it sees 0x02 read the string.
If the device number matches the one setup in the program then display the next 4 characters in the string as ASCII to the display.

I have created a sketch that will read the character sent via the serial port and display them but I don’t know how to setup the conditions and convert the HEX to ASCII to be displayed.

Can anyone point me in the right direction on how to do this.
I have been looking at several web sites for information but have not found very much.
Stevel

Re: Serial HEX to ASCII to DMD

Postby stryker » Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:36 am

Hi stevel

Strictly speaking, your serial traffic won't be hex, rather it will be a string of bits that can be represented to human readable form as a number in some base (your choice of 2-binary, 10-decimal, or 16-hex...whatever is your preference), or as the representation of a displayed ascii character. This means to filter by a value, your code is just going to need to refer to the data in a particular way so comparing it to hex 0x42 or char '*' are equivalent.