Can the USBDroid be used to connect to other USB Devices?

The USBDroid provides USB Host functionality for use as an Android peripheral as an Open Android Development Kit board. [Product page]
Jez_A

Can the USBDroid be used to connect to other USB Devices?

Post by Jez_A » Fri Nov 25, 2011 1:19 am

Hi,

I am a beginner in the Arduino world, so please accept my apologies if this has already been answered else where. My question is whether the USBDroid can be used to connect to other USB devices and control them, rather than just Android devices.

For example:
I have an old Microsoft USB Fingerprint reader that I no longer use, after switching to a Mac platform. Would the USBDroid be able to interface with this device and allow me to control it, and read data from it?

Any advice/thoughts would be greatly appreciated...

Cheers
Jez

jonoxer
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: Can the USBDroid be used to connect to other USB Devices

Post by jonoxer » Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:29 am

Hey Jez, as a *general* statement: yes. However, I don't think the fingerprint reader will be feasible.

The USBDroid was developed specifically to interface with Android devices, but it uses a general-purpose USB host controller chip so it can be used for far more than that. Assuming there is software support available you could plug in a USB keyboarrd, or a memory stick, or whatever, and have the USBDroid act as a host for it.

However, and this is the big caveat, many USB devices are dumber than you may expect. Often they just act as a fancy adapter, passing semi-raw data back to the host for it to do all the hard work. A classic example is cheap USB wifi dongles: they have no smarts in them at all, just a radio and some interface circuitry. The "driver" that you install on your PC to work with it is what does all the real work, so you can't just plug a USB wifi dongle into, say, a USBDroid and have cheap wifi.