Data logger for passive house project

Just want to hang out with other Makers and chat about stuff? This is the place to do it.
EyesOfAHunter

Data logger for passive house project

Post by EyesOfAHunter » Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:26 pm

Hi People
I am likely to build a passive house in the near future and I want to datalog the energy consumption, temperature, humidity, light, RFID and doors/windows opening then post it online in a spreadsheet/graph.

I am a Civil engineer and am going to need help on the electronics side (to say the least, more along the lines of a step by step guide).

My present thinking is:
EtherTen connected to an internet hub by ethernet cable,
HUMID: Humidity and Temperature Sensor Module,
A small solar panel to record the solar intensity (this will also give me data if I want to use a solar system on the house as a whole),
reed switches in the doors,
an infrared beam for the windows (there are many in a line) and
I need to be able to measure the wattage throughout the house.

I want to place multiple sensors in each room, to map air flow.
i.e. I need approx 15 temp/humidity sensors

For the Wattage I was hoping this could be done at the power board.

I would like to the data to be logged when there is a change in temp/etc, then recorded on an SD-card and uploaded to a google doc spreadsheet/form.

I want to use the RFID as only part of the data set. I was planning on placing the reader just below the keyhole. So that when a manual lock is used the RFID (hanging on the keyring) is captched.

So how do I do this?

andrew
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: Data logger for passive house project

Post by andrew » Thu Sep 05, 2013 11:22 pm

EyesOfAHunter wrote: So how do I do this?
Break it down into separate experiments so you have an understanding of each part works, make notes - then you'll be on your way to integrating the whole system together.

if Arduino is new to you then get yourself an Eleven or the EXP: