7-segment LED counter

The USBDroid provides USB Host functionality for use as an Android peripheral as an Open Android Development Kit board. [Product page]
moof

7-segment LED counter

Post by moof » Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:31 pm

Okay, so, I'm making a mock Halo assault rifle, and it's gonna have the firing sounds, LED muzzle flashing, a 7-seg ammunition counter and vibrating effects. It's already proving to be a very fun and rewarding project, but I have now reached very unknown territories: electronics and programming.
This USBDroid seems to be the way to go, as it surely supports all/most of these features.
But I am VERY new to this whole sketching thing, and it'll take me quite some time to get this thing together. SO!
Is there any chance of myself getting some help with this? Especially the ammunition counter and how to sync LEDs with sound. so far all i've been able to do is play with the onboard (D13) LED and make it flash a different speeds and intervals.
But i can tell this'll be a nice and challenging project! I would super appreciate any help that anyone can lend :)

jonoxer
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: 7-segment LED counter

Post by jonoxer » Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:42 am

That sounds like a fun project. I think the best way to get help with it will be to break it down a bit and be specific about how you're doing it, so people can provide suggestions etc on specific parts of the project. Perhaps you could write a brief description of exactly how you imagine it working (what inputs it would use - switch as a trigger, for example?), what outputs, what will happen when the trigger is pulled (decrement counter, make sound?).

The step beyond that is to explain how you've connected things together.

Then if you're having trouble with something like how to drive the 7-segment display (just as an example), people can see how you're connecting it and give suggestions. Posting source code could help, too.