Clarification on Combining the LCD/Keypad Shield & USBDroid

The USBDroid provides USB Host functionality for use as an Android peripheral as an Open Android Development Kit board. [Product page]
andrewduncan

Clarification on Combining the LCD/Keypad Shield & USBDroid

Post by andrewduncan » Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:47 am

Hi,
I am new to arduino and have little experience with electronics (I have been a programmer for more that 20 years). I was interested in combining the LCD/Keypad Shield and USBDroid. I have read the page explaining the problem, but I am left a little confused. I am interested in using this combination to control a Canon camera (http://www.circuitsathome.com/camera-co ... os-cameras). My question is will the combination work if I just cut the D9 cut-jumper track on the USBDroid board or will I need to UINT to another jumper (say D3)? Will I need to modify the driver software if I do this? Alternatively, is it possible that I won't need UINT connected to any jumper?
Thanks,
Andrew

andrewduncan

Re: Clarification on Combining the LCD/Keypad Shield & USBDr

Post by andrewduncan » Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:57 pm

I think I have the answer, but please correct me if I am wrong. I can cut the D9 cut-jumper track on the USBDroid board and connect to the D3 jumper. However, I will then need to change the Backlight Control Selection Links from D3 on the 16x2 LCD shield to one of the Analog pins (if I want to be able to control the backlight).

Once I have done that I will need to change any code for the USB Host so that it is away that the USB interrupt in on D3.

Does that sound correct?

jonoxer
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Post by jonoxer » Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:54 am

Hi Andrew, sorry about the slow response. Working entirely from memory, what you're describing sounds correct. This is something we really should document as a mini tutorial because it's a pretty handy thing to be able to do.
--
Jon

andrewduncan

Post by andrewduncan » Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:45 am