How to Un-Brick a Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive with an Eleven

Showcase your projects! We love to see what people come up with, so please share your creations here.

How to Un-Brick a Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive with an Eleven

Postby rapslogan » Sun Jun 03, 2012 3:55 am

Hi All,

Not a project in the conventional sense but I thought i'd throw it out there. There is a well known fault with a series of 7200.11 Seagate hard drives where the hard drive effectively decides it is permanently busy and is no longer recognisable by the bios.

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/207951en/?language=en_US&fs=Search&pn=1

Who new you needed to update your hard drive firmware... Not I and so the other night I lost my primary documents drive. Critical work and an unhappy wife led me on a crawl across the web for a solution.

Disclaimer: I am not an expert. I've gathered these instructions from other places and successfully followed them to repair my own drive. I do not guarantee that they will work for you. Proceed at your own risk.

I managed to find one: https://sites.google.com/site/seagatefix/. The only unfortunate issue is I could not get the USB to UART adapter I needed in a time for the work docs or the unhappy wife's vet exams (long weekend and all). The joy of living in isolated small town New Zealand.