SPI problem with Thermocouple Shield

The EtherTen combines an Uno-equivalent Arduino-compatible board and Wiznet-based Ethernet support, along with a microSD card slot and Power-over-Ethernet support. [Product page]
hardy59

SPI problem with Thermocouple Shield

Post by hardy59 » Sat May 12, 2012 9:09 pm

Hi !
I fail to operate an Arduino thermocouple shield (by McLEng, s.b.) with my EtherTen, but only when using the ethernet library!
To me it looks like an SPI conflict/problem, but I am not an expert with neither Arduino nor SPI.

When the ethernet code in my sketch is commented out, the system runs nicely and prints correct temperature readouts to the serial console.

When the ethernet code is active, everything else works nicely (DHCP and the web server too), only the readouts of the thermo shield are wrong (always 0°C). However, the function call MAX31855::read(...) for reading the temperature does not return an error (only false, more precisely null values for the temperature).

I hoped to avoid SPI trouble by using the EtherTen instead of an Arduino/Ethernet-shield stack, which is know for its SPI bug.

Any hint or advice is appreciated very much!

Cheers,
Hardy

PS: This is the link to the thermocouple shield: http://ryanjmclaughlin.com/wiki/Arduino ... ple_Shield

PPS: I changed the CS pin for the thermocouple shield to digital #5 (with hard- and software).

jonoxer
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: SPI problem with Thermocouple Shield

Post by jonoxer » Sun May 13, 2012 10:28 am

I haven't tried that hardware myself (I don't have that shield or a MAX6675) but it looks to me like there may be a problem combining the driver library with the Ethernet library - or anything else that uses SPI, actually.