mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

The EtherTen combines an Uno-equivalent Arduino-compatible board and Wiznet-based Ethernet support, along with a microSD card slot and Power-over-Ethernet support. [Product page]
effgee
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:41 am

mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

Post by effgee » Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:35 am

I bought a couple of ethertens, but found there is no 'land' around the screw holes to accomodate the head of a fastener.

How do people hole these things down securely ?
Is there some recommended plastic spring clip/pin ?

I'm using screw terminal boards http://shieldlist.org/dfrobot/screwshield, which all make the assembly too wide to fit any of the standard enclosures. I just want to hold the pcb down against a flat surface.

cef
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:53 am

Re: mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

Post by cef » Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:05 am

This is a common problem with most of the Arduino boards, and not limited to the Freetronics stuff.

What I've always done was use a nylon screw. With a pair of side-cutters, cut off a side (or two) of the screw head so that it fits in the gap between the headers. I then just tighten the nuts on the other side of whatever I'm mounting it to.

If I was using metal bolts, I'd take to it with a file or more likely a grinder to reduce the width of the head. Just make sure to get rid of any rough edges, in case they scratch the board (or end up coming off and shorting out stuff).

FWIW: Much easier doing it with screw heads than the nuts, as you get mighty close to the width of the thread, which would make the nut useless if you go too far.

Sleurhutje
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:18 am

Re: mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

Post by Sleurhutje » Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:05 pm

Use plastic PCB Fasteners. Like the Skiffy Series 100

Image

effgee
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:41 am

Re: mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

Post by effgee » Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:42 am

thanks cefr & Sleurhutje.

Can you recommend a localy available part number ? Most of the ones at RS/jaycar/farnell seem to be for a 4.0mm pcb hole, whereas arduinos seem to have 3.3 mm pcb holes.

effgee
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:41 am

Re: mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

Post by effgee » Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:14 am

(bump)

can anyone point to a partnumber for a standoff to suit arduino/etherten 3.3mm holes ?

effgee
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:41 am

Re: mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

Post by effgee » Mon Sep 17, 2012 6:52 am

thanks, but the issue is that there is no 'land' (room) on the board for the head of a fastener, certainly not clear of tracks and components. The suggestion above was to to springy/fir-tree standoff, but a trip to Jaycar yielded nothing (their ones marked "3mm hole" http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=HP0770) are just wrongly marked, the assistant opened the packet and there's no way it would go in the 3.3mm hole on the ethermega.

effgee
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:41 am

Re: mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

Post by effgee » Mon Sep 17, 2012 7:22 am

Actually this is what I'm after
http://australia.rs-online.com/web/p/pc ... g/2828327/
right size, low profile....but I don't really want to buy $47 worth of them :(

effgee
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:41 am

Re: mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

Post by effgee » Mon Sep 17, 2012 8:15 am

A kind offer indeed (lets hope your accountant isn't reading this forum....pretty safe, I guess).

All I can do is hope the other 2 turn up here soon....

Really I was hoping to take advantage of RS's free shipping, and find a part a reasonable price/qty. I'm still a little astounded at the lack of mounting hardware; does everyone just let these things sit on their desk, or duct-tape it somewhere. Then again, if Arduino had used 4mm holes there'd be plenty of choice.

effgee
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:41 am

Re: mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

Post by effgee » Thu Sep 27, 2012 7:44 am

greywolf271 wrote:I'm not sure why you're finding it so hard to get M3 plastic screws as a small quantity. Lots of industrial supply stores sell them.
I have no problem sourcing M3 plastic screws, RS will free ship a bag of 100 for ~$13
http://australia.rs-online.com/web/c/fa ... 4294959273

but as the thread title suggests I don't think they're appropriate for mounting etherten/ethermega due to lack of free real estate around the holes.

Aussie_Wombat
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 12:52 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: mounting screws don't fit on Etherten

Post by Aussie_Wombat » Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:00 pm

These ones are very similar, and are cheaper, with lower purchase quantity...

http://australia.rs-online.com/web/p/pc ... g/7214710/

$0.39 each in bag of 40

Cheers Dennis

Post Reply