Freetronics RFID Door Lock Shield and Priority 1 RFIDREAD-mRW-125

Control electric door locks and strike plates using your Arduino and an RFID module. Serial interface for an external RFID reader, and a switched output for door strike control. [Product page]
HyperX

Freetronics RFID Door Lock Shield and Priority 1 RFIDREAD-mRW-125

Post by HyperX » Sun Jun 14, 2015 8:14 pm

I am looking to build a RFID door lock based on the Freetronics RFID Door Lock Shield and the supported RFIDREAD-mRW-125 by Priority 1 Design. Being a total noob to Ardunio and not up to speed on serial, TTL, SPI, I2C etc. I am hoping the good ppl here in the Forum can point me in the right direction to make this project a success. My questions are….

1. Is the RFIDREAD-mRW-125 by Priority 1 Design directly compatible with the pin headers on the Freetronics RFID Door Lock Shield or will I have to incorporate a front end chip in my design to make this work?

Door Lock Shield I/O ---- mRW-125 I/O
--------5v-------------------- Pin 8 - 5v
--------TX-------------------- Pin 6 - TX
--------RX-------------------- Pin 5 - RX
-------GND ------------------ Pin 7 – GND

2. Just needing a basic setup, I had planned on using the sketch from PA, RFID Access Control Single. Is this sketch good as is or will I need to change some parameters to make this work with my setup?

3. I also wanted to incorporate an electric deadbolt along with the standard strike plate. Could this be wired in parallel off the I/O on the shield or would it be better to set this up as a different function using different pins on the Arduino and a relay board.

Thanks for your help folks…. Go easy on this old man… it’s not easy being old and retired… the Brain Fade sets in on the day you retire…. So watch out… it sneaks up on you fast… Lol.

andrew
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: Freetronics RFID Door Lock Shield and Priority 1 RFIDREAD-mRW-125

Post by andrew » Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:55 pm