Page 1 of 1

HBridge controlling 2 model trains

Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:15 am
by alantrains
Hi all,
I would like to use the HBridge to control two model trains at once. The trouble with model trains is that they run on rails and even though each train has it's own set of rails, there is a possibility that the rails that the two trains are running on may come in contact with each other due to points switching etc. My guess is that this could cause a short circuit and blow one of the drivers in the hbridge unless there is some sore of optical isolation between the two sets of drivers. Even if I use a second arduine and hbridge, because the earths need to be common, I might end up with the same result. Does anyone know what solution I could use to prevent blowing the drivers?
cheers
Alan

Re: HBridge controlling 2 model trains

Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 8:02 am
by andrew
Break the layout down into electrical blocks. Gives you fun later on when adding signalling :)

Re: HBridge controlling 2 model trains

Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:40 pm
by alantrains
Thanks John,
I had planned to do that although it is a bit complicated. I'll have to use some relays to allocate the different blocks.
Alan