HBridge controlling 2 model trains

Drive a 4-wire bipolar stepper motor or a pair of DC motors from your Arduino. [Product page]
Post Reply
alantrains
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:03 am

HBridge controlling 2 model trains

Post by alantrains » Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:15 am

Hi all,
I would like to use the HBridge to control two model trains at once. The trouble with model trains is that they run on rails and even though each train has it's own set of rails, there is a possibility that the rails that the two trains are running on may come in contact with each other due to points switching etc. My guess is that this could cause a short circuit and blow one of the drivers in the hbridge unless there is some sore of optical isolation between the two sets of drivers. Even if I use a second arduine and hbridge, because the earths need to be common, I might end up with the same result. Does anyone know what solution I could use to prevent blowing the drivers?
cheers
Alan

andrew
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:06 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: HBridge controlling 2 model trains

Post by andrew » Thu Oct 08, 2015 8:02 am

Break the layout down into electrical blocks. Gives you fun later on when adding signalling :)

alantrains
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:03 am

Re: HBridge controlling 2 model trains

Post by alantrains » Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:40 pm

Thanks John,
I had planned to do that although it is a bit complicated. I'll have to use some relays to allocate the different blocks.
Alan

Post Reply