Standalone breadboard - ATMega328P

The Experimenters Kit includes an "Eleven" Arduino-compatible board, plus a range of parts and a guide to make it easy to get started with Arduino projects. [Product Page]
MildTurkey

Standalone breadboard - ATMega328P

Post by MildTurkey » Fri Aug 30, 2013 4:16 pm

Hi,

Let me start by apologising if this is in the wrong area - I wasn't sure where to post this. I am quite new to arduino but have started with an experimenter's kit and am currently trying to move my sketch to a standalone breadboard. I have followed several tutorials from the arduino site (http://arduino.cc/en/Main/Standalone) but just can't seem to make any sketches work (just basic blink sketches - nothing fancy).

I am using the Freetronics ATmega328P with pre-burned bootloader (uno) -
http://www.freetronics.com/collections/ ... bootloader.

I have been putting the new chip into my arduino eleven and uploading the sketch then putting the chip back into the breadboard, but I'm just not seeing any blinking leds.

Can anyone suggest any common newbie mistake I may have made or step I have missed?

andrew
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: Standalone breadboard - ATMega328P

Post by andrew » Sat Aug 31, 2013 6:12 am

How does your circuit look?
This is an absolutely minimal breadboard Arduino circuit:

(Ignore the ATmega168 - it should say 328... it was a rush job).

X1 can either be a 3-pin resonator or a 16 MHz crystal and two 22 pF ceramic capacitors.

Then if you have an LED, you can test the typical Arduino example blink sketch by connecting a 560 ohm resistor between pin 19 on the microcontroller and the LED anode, then the LED cathode to GND.

I've almost finished writing a tutorial on that very topic, when it's finished I'll let you know here.

MildTurkey

Post by MildTurkey » Sat Aug 31, 2013 6:17 am