DMD display, only 32 top right LEDS work

The Dot Matrix Display (DMD) is a 32x16 array of high-brightness LEDs for visually striking effects. [Product Page]
Post Reply
dtbaker
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:52 pm

DMD display, only 32 top right LEDS work

Post by dtbaker » Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:57 pm

Hey guys,

Got two DMD's however the second one is a bit funky.

All the lights turn on and stay on, except some in the top right corner.
I can see text scrolling past in the top right corner, and all of those are controllable, but everything else just stays on.

Does anybody know what is causing this or if there is a way we can fix it?

Here's a picture of what I mean:
Image

Cheers,
Dave

Aussie_Wombat
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 12:52 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: DMD display, only 32 top right LEDS work

Post by Aussie_Wombat » Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:01 am

Check the four silver screws have insulated washers on the front and back of the board. You will have to remove the black panel carefully, as the plastic is quite brittle. Apart from that, I can only think that the code is set to 2 panels wide and the cables are connected properly.

Cheers Dennis

(edit) does it do it if you swap them over [first panel second and second panel first] ?

dtbaker
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:52 pm

Re: DMD display, only 32 top right LEDS work

Post by dtbaker » Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:51 am

Nah pretty sure it's busted.

1st panel works fine on it's own, when I swap them around this happens or it shows gibberish.

Happens when single dmd or both dmd's are connected together. Happens when single dmd is powered by arduino or external power.

Bought another one yesterday hopefully get it this week.

Aussie_Wombat
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 12:52 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: DMD display, only 32 top right LEDS work

Post by Aussie_Wombat » Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:11 am

ok

obviously the QC guy was asleep when this one was tested. lmao

Cheers Dennis

Post Reply