Usage of DMD2 with Ethernet shield

The Dot Matrix Display (DMD) is a 32x16 array of high-brightness LEDs for visually striking effects. [Product Page]
Post Reply
GrosDede
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:57 am

Usage of DMD2 with Ethernet shield

Post by GrosDede » Thu Mar 31, 2016 3:18 am

Hi,

I would like to use both Ethernet shield with DMD displays, but it does not work out-of-the-box.

I seams that there is a software conflict with Timer1.
Is it possible to add in DMD2 a way to initialize DMD without timers, but without having to edit library files ?

There seams to have also a pin conflict with your base connector.
I use dupont cables to change pins.
But I didn't figure how I can rewire for usage with ethernet shield (using both ethernet and SD card).

Do you have a successfull example of usage of DMD displays with ethernet shield ?

Thanks :)

andrew
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:06 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Usage of DMD2 with Ethernet shield

Post by andrew » Sun Apr 03, 2016 5:28 am

You can use different pins for the DMD by using the SoftDMD function in the DMD library. You will need to manually run wires from the DMD cable to the board however this eliminates the Ethernet conflict.

GrosDede
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:57 am

Re: Usage of DMD2 with Ethernet shield

Post by GrosDede » Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:24 pm

Hi,

That's what I am trying, but I have not figured out what I did wrong yet. So I was asking if someone has figured how to plug the connector's pins, with a sample app :)

Edit : found a shield pin usage page.

Edit 2 : according to Arduino forum, analog pins can be used as digital output.
Original pin layout is :

Code: Select all

SoftDMD dmd(DMD_WIDTH, DMD_HEIGHT, 9, 6, 7, 8, 13, 11);
So I tried :

Code: Select all

SoftDMD dmd(DMD_WIDTH, DMD_HEIGHT, A0, A1, A2, A3, A4, A5);
and rewired accordingly. There are 2 unused pins (10 and 12) that I have plugged to GND.

It's working :)

angusgr
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Usage of DMD2 with Ethernet shield

Post by angusgr » Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:13 am

Glad you got it sorted out. :)

GrosDede
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:57 am

Re: Usage of DMD2 with Ethernet shield

Post by GrosDede » Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:17 am

I managed to wire it but with manual scan in the loop() function.

Next steps : try to use a timer, avoir flickering, and free analog ping to use Wire lib for a RTC module.

Ahmed1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: Usage of DMD2 with Ethernet shield

Post by Ahmed1 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:22 am

Good day gents
Can you help me explain
What you do exactly to make the sheild work with DMD

Thanks
Ahmed

danieldewaard
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 2:41 am

Re: Usage of DMD2 with Ethernet shield

Post by danieldewaard » Mon Jul 23, 2018 4:43 am

Hey Ahmed,

Have a look at the following project for some inspiration: https://www.instructables.com/id/Home-A ... em-with-a/

Cheers,
Daniel

Post Reply