New beta release "DMD2" Library

The Dot Matrix Display (DMD) is a 32x16 array of high-brightness LEDs for visually striking effects. [Product Page]
angusgr
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: New beta release "DMD2" Library

Post by angusgr » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:25 pm

Thanks Hobohome. Regarding the first problem you mentioned (random pixels when brightness != 255), do you see that if you use run the example DMD2 sketches with your pin assignments, or only with your sketch?

Hobohome
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:39 am

Re: New beta release "DMD2" Library

Post by Hobohome » Sun Feb 08, 2015 3:34 am

Hi,
The issue is evident when I use the lib examples and lower the brightness below 255.

Cheers

abdul
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:12 am

Re: New beta release "DMD2" Library

Post by abdul » Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:18 am

How to use specified column only??
for example column 9 until end as text scrolling,
and column 0 - 8 as drawBox. ???

angusgr
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: New beta release "DMD2" Library

Post by angusgr » Mon Mar 16, 2015 9:56 pm

abdul wrote:How to use specified column only??
for example column 9 until end as text scrolling,
and column 0 - 8 as drawBox. ???
Hi abdul,

I'm not sure I fully understand your question, sorry. But if you look in the 'Marquee' example sketch there is a line:

Code: Select all

DMD_TextBox box(dmd, 0, 0, 32, 16);
These arguments are left, top, width, height. So

Code: Select all

DMD_TextBox box(dmd, 9, 0, 22, 16);
... would start from the 9th column and go to the end of the display, leaving columns 0-8 available for other drawing.

abdul
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:12 am

Re: New beta release "DMD2" Library

Post by abdul » Tue Mar 17, 2015 5:33 am

Thanks angusgr, it works.

But i have the problem for the longer string,
for the example i write "ABCDEFGH", the display just scrolling until "ABCDEF" and a half of "G".
my example code :

Code: Select all

const char *MESSAGE = "ABCDEFGH";
DMD_TextBox box(dmd,15,0,55,16);
const char *next = MESSAGE;
for(int i =0;i<9;i++){
    box.print(*next);
    next++;
}
for(int i=0;i<50;i++){
box.scrollX(-1);
delay(100);
}
I made change width of Textbox but it's still didn't work.

abdul
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:12 am

Re: New beta release "DMD2" Library

Post by abdul » Wed Apr 01, 2015 4:59 am

how to marquee scroll DMD_TextBox ????
Please..

palavras
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 12:17 am

Re: New beta release "DMD2" Library

Post by palavras » Thu May 07, 2015 12:25 am

hi there !
i would like to make a huge number fonts for 2 16x32 P10 display. So i have a 32x32 display and this great huge font library ( MyBigFont.h ) which explains everything for how to make letters numbers and symbols.

* * * - bit 0 a '0' in bytes 0, 1, a '1' in bytes 3, 4, 5, and a '0' in bytes 5 & 6.
* * * * - bit 1
* * * * * - bit 2
* * * * * - bit 3
* * * - bit 4
* * * - bit 5 Character '1' has a width of 0x07
* * * - bit 6 Character '1' is represented by "0x0C, 0x0E, 0xFF, 0xFF,
* * * - bit 7 0xFF, 0x00, 0x00, 0xE0, 0xE0, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xE0, 0xE0"
* * * - bit 0
* * * - bit 1
* * * - bit 2
* * * - bit 3
* * * - bit 4
* * * * * * * - bit 5
* * * * * * * - bit 6
* * * * * * * - bit 7


So in my case what shoud i change if i want this number fill the 2 displays ???

angusgr
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: New beta release "DMD2" Library

Post by angusgr » Thu May 07, 2015 1:50 am

Hi palavras,

I'm afraid I don't really understand your question. Are you using the DMD library or the DMD2 library, and are you using Freetronics DMD displays or something else?

Could you please post a new thread on the forum that answers these questions, and also perhaps attach or link to the font header/library file that you have?

If the font is in the correct format, the DMD library should allow it to spread over multiple panels without any problem.

Angus

unicasoft
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 10:22 am

Re: New beta release "DMD2" Library

Post by unicasoft » Wed May 20, 2015 12:36 pm

I use dmd2, w:2 h:1 16x64 2 panel is running good with serial port.
But when i used 3 or higher panels serial port bad running, it can not all character from pc, mybe alittle busy microcontroller.
Please help me.

angusgr
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 853
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: New beta release "DMD2" Library

Post by angusgr » Sun May 24, 2015 10:59 pm

unicasoft wrote:I use dmd2, w:2 h:1 16x64 2 panel is running good with serial port.
But when i used 3 or higher panels serial port bad running, it can not all character from pc, mybe alittle busy microcontroller.
Please help me.
Busy microcontroller sounds likely. Is it possible to post the sketch that you're running?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests