Chapter 6: Security/Automation Sensors

The book "Practical Arduino" by Jonathan Oxer and Hugh Blemings covers a range of projects and techniques from basic to advanced. [Book site] [Buy online]
mdance

Chapter 6: Security/Automation Sensors

Post by mdance » Thu Oct 03, 2013 3:55 pm

Hello,

I am new to electronics and using the chapter 6 alarm system project as my first project so please excuse me if my questions or assumptions are wildly incorrect.

Will this project work with a single two wire PIR sensor (see the links below for the exact model)?

Can I make this work with a 7V battery pack supply (I don't have a 12V power supply on hand)?

With only two wires on the PIR, how do I connect it to the arduino side? In particular I am worried about how to avoid damaging the arduino with too much voltage/current.

I am not sure if my resistance values are correct but this is what I measured from the PIR:

11.50 MO
10.50 MO
9.50 MO
9.86 MO
9.60 MO
12.30 MO
10.83 MO
10.30 MO
9.98 MO

External Links:

PIR Sensor:
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=LA5476

Alarm System Details:
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=LA5475
Attachments
20131004_011532-cropped.jpg
Breadboard Setup
20131004_011520-cropped.jpg
20131004_011141-cropped.jpg

jonoxer
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: Chapter 6: Security/Automation Sensors

Post by jonoxer » Tue Oct 08, 2013 12:17 am

I have bad news and good news: that particular alarm system doesn't use the standard connections of a traditional system so it won't work as described in Practical Arduino, but there is an alternative method that may do the job quite easily.