Issues with barometer

Our range of tiny modules are designed to make it easy for you to quickly add functionality to your projects. [Module List]
sam g

Issues with barometer

Post by sam g » Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:04 am

Hi all, I'm new to Arduino and am loving it. I am having issues with the barometer module. I am using un modified source code from Gift Hub (following link from freetronics site). The temp is reading around 8 degrees C lower than it should, and barometric pressure around 15 hPa lower than it should. Is anybody else having issues - I just want to use it as a real time weather monitor. Thanks

angusgr
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: Issues with barometer

Post by angusgr » Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:09 pm

Hi Sam,

This seems like it's out of spec. If you trust the other measurements you're calibrating against then the sensor should be accurate to +/-1C and +/-4mbar (hPa).

If you think it's faulty then you can return it to the retailer you bought it from, or please email support@freetronics.com and we'll arrange a direct replacement.

BobTindo

Post by BobTindo » Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:27 pm

Hi forum,

I recently acquired a Barometric Pressure Sensor Module as an addition to an existing instrument that uses a Sensirion SHT75 Temp/Humidity sensor, an Arduino Nano, LCD Display and a AD5754 DAC.
Integration was very easy because the I2C lines were unused and results from the sensor were immediately displayable.

Problem is the results from the Baro sensor looked to be totally wrong!
I.E. The Baro Temperature readings is 21.8 - 22.1C (too low) and Pressure is 958,7 to 958.82 (again too low). I'm working in an air conditioned room with the thermostat set to 26 deg and the Sensirion sensor displays 26.6 - 26.65 C (69-70% RH).
I don't have a barometer to cross check the pressure but the local weather station reports 1006.1mB.
I'm inclined to believe the SHT sensor temp (can't be positive about pressure) but not the Baro sensor.