Vary Voltage/Current of Shift Register Outputs?

Our range of tiny modules are designed to make it easy for you to quickly add functionality to your projects. [Module List]
Julia*5

Vary Voltage/Current of Shift Register Outputs?

Post by Julia*5 » Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:36 am

Hi,

I recently bought the shift register expansion module and have been playing around lighting up LED's in different sequences with my Eleven and all is great. Specifically though, I want to be able to power several different circuits from the shift register as well as adjust the voltage/current sent to these circuits as specified in code. Is this possible? Was thinking of somehow using a digital potentiometer to vary the voltage/current?

I am quite new to all of this and so any help is very appreciated.

angusgr
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: Vary Voltage/Current of Shift Register Outputs?

Post by angusgr » Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:42 pm

Hi Julia,

Good to hear you're exploring the possibilities with shift registers.

While it is possible to fade LEDs in and out by varying voltage/current, the easiest way is to use PWM. This is what the Arduino "analogWrite" functions do if you use them to dim an LED.

You can do PWM through a shift register. It involves sending the same on/off data to the shift register that you're sending now, just at a very high speed. There are some Arduino libraries to help with PWMing through shift registers, one is ShiftPWM: http://www.elcojacobs.com/shiftpwm/

Please let us know how you get on.

- Angus

Julia*5

Post by Julia*5 » Sat Jun 15, 2013 3:06 am

Hi Angus,