Need help with a simple sketch for the RTC

Our range of tiny modules are designed to make it easy for you to quickly add functionality to your projects. [Module List]
tas99

Need help with a simple sketch for the RTC

Post by tas99 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:31 am

As you can see from my earlier question I’m pretty new to this platform and especially writing Sketches that work.

I’m still trying to use the information in the RTC Quickstart Guide but that’s proving to be frustrating at best. It assumes I know a lot more than I do. That’s understandable because I doubt it’s aimed at someone like me. Anyway, I need some help.

It may be asking a lot but is there someone who can write a SIMPLE and complete Sketch using the retrieve date and time commands shown in the Quickstart guide that will read time and date from the RTC and write it to the serial monitor. With that I think I can build on it to get it to do what I want.

When I do it I get a lot of errors. Mainly things like “Development_Sketch:12: error: expected initializer before '.' token”. Maybe someone can tell me what that error means. I looked around and didn’t find much that I could understand.

Thanks in advance (I hope)

Tom

tas99

Re: Need help with a simple sketch for the RTC

Post by tas99 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:48 pm

tronixstuff,

I really appreciate the code you supplied but it's far above what I'm looking for.

In the Quickstart Guide they reference the fo;;owing and it's those functions I'd like to see incorporated into a simple sketch.

Again, thanks for the response and hope you can help with this simplified request.

Tom

From the Quickstart Guide:

First, retrieve the time data from the RTC with

rtc.readTime(&time);

then you can work with the time parameters by using the byte variables

time.hour
time.minute
time.second

So to display the time in the serial monitor, you now use the following lines

Serial.print("Time: ");
Serial.print(time.hour, DEC);
Serial.print(':');