RGB module not working once leostick joins i2c bus..

Our range of tiny modules are designed to make it easy for you to quickly add functionality to your projects. [Module List]
r23d

RGB module not working once leostick joins i2c bus..

Post by r23d » Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:54 pm

Hi folks,

I'm a bit stuck on something and need help! :?

I have an RGB module attached to a leostick which is slaved to an arduino duemilanove on an i2c bus.

I'm having a few issues with this setup, namely :

1. Once the Duemilanove (master) joins the bus, the RGB Module seems no longer to respond. (it works fine when not attached, or when I comment out wire.begin() on the master).
2. While I can send messages from Master to slave, I can't seem to request and receive data from the slave leostick.
3. The Piezo on the Leonardo makes an audible hum (sounds like 9600Hz) when the I2c is running. :shock:

I'm new to i2c and the RGB module, so it could be something simple, but I'm tearing my hair out here...

My sketches are attached...

Any ideas? :geek:

cheers,

Richard Allen
Melb, Australia
Attachments
Compulse.zip
Master/Slave arduino sketches
(4.97 KiB) Downloaded 125 times

r23d

Re: RGB module not working once leostick joins i2c bus..

Post by r23d » Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:02 am

Sorted problem :)

Basically I figured out a few things about the I2c bus :

1. You don't have to have a master-slave setup, a master-master setup is possible and works much better for my case. I was sending requests for data from the slave leostick out from the master duemilanove every program loop (crazy I know). I thought this was the only way to get data back from the slave as soon as an event happens there. Of course, with the slave now a master, it can send it's own data when it happens interrupt-style.

This was why my piezo was so noisy - all those messages! Plus I guess the poor leostick was so busy processing interrupts, the messages to the RGBLED didn't stand a chance of working. Now it's happy.