All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

The LCD and Keypad Shield gives you a handy 16-character by 2-line display, 5 buttons and a controllable backlight.
Post Reply
PeterG
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:22 am

All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Post by PeterG » Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:26 am

Bought the LCD & Keypad Shield a while ago but got sidetracked and never did anything with it. I pulled it out of a drawer today plugged it in and all I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty.

That was running off of macbook usb...so I look at the Quickstart on this sight and I see that it might need more power...I plug in a 9V adapter as per instructions and I get the same thing.

Is it cactus? Is there any trick to resurrect it?

andrew
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:06 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Post by andrew » Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:57 am

Hello Peter

If you have the shield plugged into a non-Ethernet board of ours it doesn't need external power.
That display effect (top line on, bottom off) usually appears when power but no signal is going to the LCD. If you haven't already done so, could you please try the "minimal display example" sketch in:
http://www.freetronics.com.au/pages/16x ... tart-guide
and let me know how you get on.
John

PeterG
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:22 am

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Post by PeterG » Mon Mar 23, 2015 9:47 pm

John, thanks for your reply.

I don't know what that ethernet board is that you are talking about.

That minimal display example was exactly the thing I was trying to run.

Currently I am using

Arduino 1.6.1 IDE
The arduino board from freetronics arduino experimenters kit connected to the USB on my MacbookPro
and the LCD & Keypad Shield

This is what I get
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/846 ... G_1109.JPG

andrew
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:06 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Post by andrew » Mon Mar 23, 2015 9:55 pm

Ow, that isn't right. You may have a faulty one.
Please email support@freetronics.com for a resolution.

PeterG
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:22 am

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Post by PeterG » Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:35 am

Just recieved the replacement in the mail...I have a beautiful 'hello, world' on my screen. thank you.

andrew
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:06 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Post by andrew » Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:42 am

Excellent, thank you for letting us know.

bobbyd
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:55 am

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Post by bobbyd » Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:29 am

I am having the same problem, tried voltage issues but no success can anybody help?

andrew
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:06 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Post by andrew » Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:31 am

Any chance you can post a photo of it? Or email to support@freetronics.com

bobbyd
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 6:55 am

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Post by bobbyd » Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:42 am

just emailed picture, thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests