How to display 4 sets of data on lower line

The LCD and Keypad Shield gives you a handy 16-character by 2-line display, 5 buttons and a controllable backlight.
brewski850

How to display 4 sets of data on lower line

Post by brewski850 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:15 am

Hi All,
I'm new to Arduino but bought an Arduino Uno plus LCD shield (16x2) two weeks ago.
I've been playing around with some programming & have adapted a Wattmeter sketch I found that displays Voltage, Amps on one line and Watts, Time on second line.

I have modified code to include WattHours & AmpHours & want to show this alternately on second line with Watts & Time.

Can anyone help?

Cheers,
Brewski

angusgr
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: How to display 4 sets of data on lower line

Post by angusgr » Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:52 pm

Hi Brewski,

Can you post your sketch somewhere so we can have a look?

You can either insert it here (use the "Code" button at the top to put it in a "code block" so it formats correctly) or you can use a service like Pastebin and just post a link.

- Angus

brewski850

Post by brewski850 » Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:36 am

Hi Angus,

I joined Pastebin & hopefully this link will take you to the wattmeter sketch.
http://pastebin.com/10m7umdA

I was initially trying to show TIME (since unit connected to 12V to power connected appliance) & Watt Hours alternately on second line of display. When this didn't work successfully & then tried to combine the Wattmeter sketch with LCD shield button detect & backlight sketch to reduce power consumption of display. I removed the duplicate lines but no success.I guess too many things trying to write to only two lines of LCD?

Thanks,
Brewski850

angusgr
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Post by angusgr » Thu Aug 01, 2013 12:11 am

Thanks for posting the code. I didn't actually realise you could "join" pastebin, I usually just paste whatever I have in on the front page! I should think about creating an account too.