PoE+ (802.3at) Support?

Our Ethernet Shield combines LAN connectivity, a microSD slot, Power-over-Ethernet support, and even a prototyping area for you to add your own parts.
restlessdesign

PoE+ (802.3at) Support?

Post by restlessdesign » Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:59 pm

I recently purchased an Ethernet Shield, only to find out that my workplace is running PoE+, which supports a much higher power output*. I take it the 8023af Regulator isn't going to be enough? If that's the case, can it be modded or is there another product to ensure that I don't blow up my Arduino? :D

* — From what I've read (I'm pretty new to this), this doesn't necessarily mean that it has to output at a higher voltage—should I test this by plugging the board in and taking a reading with my multimeter?

cef
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff

Re: PoE+ (802.3at) Support?

Post by cef » Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:17 am

PoE+ and PoE should be compatible.

PoE+ should refer to 802.3at. 802.3at has 2 types. 802.3at type 1 is equivalent to 802.3af. The max voltage that comes out of 802.3at and 802.3af is still capped at 57 volts, regardless of type.

Note: The end device negotiates the current (and therefore power) that it will get when it is first connected. Some useful notes on this can be found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_over_Ethernet - FYI: This all happens on the regulator.

PS: Of course, this will not be enough if you're using a non-PoE regulator, and could result in the regulator getting fried. I know you said you're using a PoE regulator, but this is just a reminder for others reading this post.

anas_ali

Post by anas_ali » Thu May 17, 2012 5:14 pm

There are several ethernet arduino shields available on different sites, some with poE module and some without poE module .